Subscribe

Program

TORONTO: An Overview

Exciting, vibrant and cosmopolitan, Toronto is Canada’s Downtown, the largest city and number one visitor destination.

“Toronto” is Huron Indian for “meeting place,” a word which aptly describes one of the most ethnically diverse cities in the world, with over 100 different cultures represented in its population of over 2.3 million. This diversity can be seen at the city’s many festivals, friendly neighbourhoods, and of course, its 9,000 restaurants.

The shopping experience includes everything from upscale boutiques to an underground city featuring 1,200 stores and services. Toronto also boasts more than 32,500 quality hotel rooms.

The city’s love for the arts has made it an important live theatre centre, and its museums are some of the most unique in North America.

This bold new city of glass towers and Victorian neighbourhoods even boasts parkland islands in its harbour. And it’s also within a few hours drive of the great Canadian outdoors and the breathtaking Niagara Falls.

When in Toronto, don’t miss:

Difficult to miss, the CN Tower stands at 1,815 feet, making it the Western Hemisphere’s tallest freestanding structure. Built at a cost of $63 million in 1976, the CN Tower weighs 130,000 tons! Ascending at a rate similar to that of a jet plane takeoff, the elevators will zoom you up to one of four observation decks including the world’s highest, The Sky Pod, that sits at 1,465’. Feeling brave? Step outside the observation area for the exhilarating EdgeWalk!

The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. Indeed, in combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to visitors and scholars from around the world. The stunning Michael Lee-Chin Crystal renovation is also worth the visit!

One of the top 10 art museums in North America, the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) houses contemporary and historic Canadian and American art, works by Canada’s Native peoples, and the world’s largest collection of sculptures by Henry Moore. Be sure to visit The Grange, Toronto’s oldest brick building, a fine example of Georgian style built in 1817 or enjoy Sunday brunch amidst Rodin sculptures in AGORA.

Casa Loma is a true turn-of-the-century castle on a hill complete with 98 elegantly furnished rooms, towers, secret passageways and tunnels. Built in 1914 by financier and soldier Sir Henry Pellat at a cost of $3 million, the castle was eventually lost to the taxman just over 10 years later. Its architect, E.J. Lennox, also designed Old City Hall and The Omni King Edward Hotel. Stroll through the surrounding gardens and enjoy some of the best views of the city.

Head to Canada’s Wonderland for great family entertainment.

Rogers Centre is the world’s first stadium with a fully-retractable roof and home to the Toronto Blue Jays major league baseball team.

Harbourfront Centre is an innovative, non-profit cultural organization which provides internationally renowned programming in the arts, culture, education and recreation, all within a collection of distinctive venues in the heart of Toronto’s downtown waterfront.

For a different and relaxing pace, visit The Toronto Islands, 820 acres of parkland and waterways. Just a 10-minute ferry ride, the Islands offer a spectacular view of Toronto’s skyline.

Of course, one of the most unique aspects of Toronto is how we are a city of neighbourhoods. Home to more than 80 cultural and ethnic groups, Toronto truly is the world within the city:

  • Greektown on Danforth Avenue, between Chester and Pape Avenue
    Described as “taking a trip to Athens while staying in the heart of Toronto,” Greektown today is a thriving neighbourhood of restaurants and cafés, gourmet food shops, fashion boutiques and a vibrant street life.
  • Little Italy on College Street, between Palmerston Avenue and Shaw Street
    The Italians may have moved further north into surrounding suburbs, but with its fine dining spots, trattorias, pool halls and billiards, this neighbourhood is still seen as the heart of Little Italy. Overseeing it all is Italian legend, Johnny Lombardi, the patriarch of the CHIN Multicultural Radio and Television empire.
  • Little India on Gerrard Street East between Greenwood and Coxwell
    Take a College Street streetcar eastbound to Gerrard Street and into Little India. Enjoy the sights, smells and aromas of India.

Shop ’til you drop!

The Eaton Centre which, with its 300+ stores, stretches from Dundas Street to Queen Street or roam North America’s largest underground pedestrian system, PATH, that beckons with its four million square feet of retail space. For funky wares, there is Queen Street West.

And expensive baubles can be had in Yorkville. Home to international designers like Prada, Chanel, Tiffany’s and Armani, it is also home to Canadian success stories like ROOTS, MAC Cosmetics and Club Monaco.

The Toronto Zoo has more than 4,000 animals from around the world.

A shrine to Canada’s favourite sport (or religion!), Hockey Hall of Fame is a truly interactive modern museum portraying the history of Canada’s national game and home to the world’s largest collection of hockey memorabilia. From the original Stanley Cup in the Grand Hall and jerseys to a replica of the locker room of the Montreal Canadiens, it’s all here! An interesting note – unique architectural aspects of this former branch of Bank of Montreal that dates back to 1885 and was designed by Darling and Curry, have been retained.

A media favourite, The Bata Shoe Museum is a North American first. This unique attraction features selections from the fascinating collection of Sonja Bata that currently numbers in excess of 10,000 artifacts, including iron-spiked clogs used to crush chestnuts, Chinese slippers for bound feet, and Elton John’s silver-sequined platforms. This exceptional collection spans 4,500 years and explores the significance of footwear in life and in death, work, religion, and fashion.

Click here to learn more about what Toronto has to offer.

if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'en' ) { } else if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'fr' ) { }

Inscription

Programme

TORONTO: un aperçu

Attrayante, dynamique et cosmopolite, Toronto est non seulement le centre urbain du Canada, mais aussi sa plus grande ville et la destination de choix des touristes.

Le nom huron « Toronto » signifie dans cette langue amérindienne « lieu de rassemblement ». Un mot juste pour décrire l’une des cités les plus diversifiées sur le plan ethnique, avec sa population dépassant les 2,3 millions de personnes qui englobe plus de 100 cultures. Cette diversité est mise en évidence dans les nombreux festivals, les quartiers chaleureux et bien sûr les 9000 restaurants!

Faire des achats vous intéresse? L’expérience torontoise vous propose de tout, depuis les boutiques de luxe jusqu’à une cité souterraine comprenant 1200 commerces et services. De plus, Toronto est très fier d’offrir plus de 32500 chambres d’hôtel de qualité.

La passion de Toronto pour les arts en a fait un important centre de théâtre intégré, et ses musées sont parmi les plus remarquables en Amérique du Nord.

Cette audacieuse nouvelle ville de gratte-ciels de verre et de maisons victoriennes jouit aussi des zones vertes sur les îles dans son port. En outre, Toronto est située à quelques heures de route de la magnifique nature canadienne et des fabuleuses chutes Niagara.

Les incontournables d’un séjour à Toronto

Dominant le profil urbain torontois, la Tour CN s’élève à 553,33 m (1815 pi) et est ainsi la plus haute structure autoporteuse de l’hémisphère occidental. Construite au coût de 63 millions de dollars en 1976, la Tour CN pèse 130 000 tonnes! Dans une ascension aussi rapide que la vitesse de décollage d’un jet, les ascenseurs vous propulseront vers une des quatre plateformes d’observation au sommet de la tour, dont la plus élevée est la Nacelle (Sky Pod) qui se trouve à une altitude de 447 m (1465 pi). Et si votre bravoure est à toute épreuve, tentez l’expérience de L’HAUT-DA CIEUX (EdgeWalk) qui est l’attraction la plus palpitante du continent!

Le Musée royal de l’Ontario est parmi les plus grands musées d’histoire naturelle et des cultures mondiales. Combinant un musée universel des cultures avec celui d’histoire naturelle, le ROM offre une expérience d’une ampleur inhabituelle aux visiteurs et aux chercheurs de partout dans le monde. L’étonnant Cristal Michael Lee-Chin en vaut la visite à lui seul!

Un des dix musées les plus importants en Amérique du Nord, le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (AGO) abrite des œuvres historiques et contemporaines d’art canadien et américain, des créations de peuples autochtones du Canada et la plus grande collection des sculptures de Henry Moore. N’oubliez pas non plus de visiter The Grange, l’édifice de brique le plus ancien de Toronto construit en 1817, qui est un bel exemple du style géorgien anglais. Ou encore, vous pouvez déguster le brunch du dimanche parmi des sculptures de Rodin dans l’AGORA.

Le Casa Loma est un véritable château perché sur une colline surplombant Toronto, qui comprend 98 pièces meublées avec élégance, des tourelles, des passages secrets et des tunnels. Il a été bâti en 1914, au coût de 3 millions de dollars pour le militaire et financier sir Henry Pellat. Mais dix ans plus tard, ce dernier a perdu cette propriété quand elle a été confisquée par le fisc. Son architecte, E.J. Lennox, a aussi conçu l’ancien hôtel de ville de Toronto et l’hôtel Omni King Edward. En vous promenant dans les jardins entourant le Casa Loma, vous aurez une vue imprenable de la ville.

Le parc d’attractions Canada’s Wonderland procure un excellent divertissement familial.

Le Rogers Centre est célèbre pour être le premier stade au monde à avoir un toit rétractable motorisé. C’est le domicile des Blue Jays, l’équipe de baseball majeur de Toronto.

Le Harbourfront Centre est un organisme culturel innovateur sans but lucratif, qui offre une programmation de renommée internationale dans les arts, la culture, l’éducation et les loisirs. Ses activités sont présentées dans un groupe de lieux distinctifs au cœur du secteur riverain du centre-ville de Toronto.

Pour changer de rythme et relaxer, visitez les îles de Toronto (Toronto Islands), 820 acres de nature canadienne et de cours d’eau. Ce paradis est à seulement 10 minutes de traversier, et vous offre une vue de la silhouette de Toronto à en perdre le souffle!

Toronto est une ville de quartiers, ce qui constitue un de ses aspects les plus exceptionnels. Rassemblant plus de 80 groupes ethniques et culturels, Toronto reflète le monde dans son agglomération – par exemple :

  • Greektown sur l’avenue Danforth entre l’avenue Chester et l’avenue Pape
    Décrit comme « un voyage à Athènes tout en restant au cœur de Toronto », Greektown est, de nos jours, un quartier florissant de restaurants et cafés, d’épiceries fines, de boutiques de mode et d’une vie de rue dynamique.
  • Little Italy sur la rue College entre l’avenue Palmerston et la rue Shaw
    Les Italiens ont peut-être déménagé plus au nord dans les banlieues adjacentes, mais avec ses restaurants raffinés, ses trattorias et ses salles de billard, ce quartier est encore considéré comme le cœur de la « Petite Italie », dont le « roi » de naguère était Johnny Lombardi, patriarche de l’empire multiculturel de radio et télévision CHIN.
  • Little India sur la rue Gerrard Est entre l’avenue Greenwood et l’avenue Coxwell
    Montez dans un tramway sur la rue College vers l’est jusqu’à la rue Gerrard et dans Little India. Vous retrouverez dans ce quartier les images, les parfums et les aromes de l’Inde.

Le paradis des boutiques!

Avec ses plus de 300 magasins, le Eaton Centre de Toronto s’étend de la rue Dundas jusqu’à la rue Queen. Ou encore, vous pouvez découvrir le plus grand réseau piétonnier souterrain d’Amérique du Nord, appelé PATH, qui comprend une superficie de 371612 m2(4000000pi2) d’espace pour la vente au détail. Et pour trouver des trucs branchés, il faut aller sur la rue Queen Ouest.

Il est possible de dénicher des babioles haut de gamme à Yorkville. C’est là où les grands couturiers internationaux comme Prada, Chanel, Tiffany’s et Armani ont pignon sur rue. C’est aussi le berceau des histoires à succès d’entreprises canadiennes, entre autres ROOTS, MAC Cosmetics et Club Monaco.

Le Zoo de Toronto accueille plus de 4000 animaux, provenant du monde entier.

Sanctuaire du sport favori (ou religieux même!) au Canada, le Temple de la renommée du hockey hockey est un vrai musée moderne interactif qui relate l’histoire du sport national canadien et héberge la plus grande collection de souvenirs du hockey. Depuis la Coupe Stanley originale dans le Grand Hall et les chandails de hockey jusqu’à une réplique du vestiaire de l’équipe de hockey des Canadiens de Montréal, tout y est! Fait intéressant – les aspects architecturaux particuliers de cette ancienne succursale de la Banque de Montréal, qui remonte à l’année 1885 et a été conçue par Darling et Curry, ont été conservés.

Favori des médias, Le Musée Bata de la chaussure est une première en Amérique du Nord. Cette attraction unique présente des articles de la fascinante collection de Sonja Bata qui compte actuellement plus de 10 000 artéfacts, incluant des sabots à crampons de fer utilisés pour broyer les marrons, des chaussons chinois pour bander les pieds et les plateformes à paillettes argentées d’Elton John. Cette collection exceptionnelle couvre 4500 ans d’histoire et explore la signification des chaussures dans la vie et la mort, le travail, la religion et la mode.

Cliquer ici pour en savoir plus sur ce que Toronto peut vous offrir.

if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'en' ) { } else if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'fr' ) { }