600+ SUBMISSIONS TO THE
CALL FOR PROPOSALS –
900+ AUTHORS – 56 COUNTRIES!

Subscribe

Program

Presenters

Check here for some of the more than 600 presenters from 56 countries whose proposals are already accepted for the World Conference on Online Learning. We look forward to welcoming them to Toronto in October 2017.

Find details on each presenter including their title, institution name, city/country, which of the Five Tracks the presentation falls in, the presentation title and a description of the session.

Check back often as more presenters and their details are added each week.

Presenters are ordered alphabetically by last name. Explore them with our search/sort options.

  • Search for Presenters by Keywords

  • Sort Presenters

  • Reset

McGreal, Rory

1) Director; 2)Chair, 1) Technology Enhanced Knowledge Research Institute; 2) Open Educational Resources, 1) Athabasca University; 2) UNESCO/Commonwealth of Learning/International Council for Open and Distance Education
Edmonton, Canada

Track 2 – Expanding Access, Openness and Flexibility

A Cross-Canada OER Dialogue

Abdelaziz, Hamdy

Professor of Distance Learning and Curriculum Design, School of e-Education, Hamdan Bin Mohamed Smart University
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Track 1 – Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Online Learning

Pedagogical Intervention: The Key (f)Actors for Effective Online Teaching and Learning

Aberra, Tsige GebreMeskel

Deputy Director, Facilitation of Learning and ICT Support, Ethiopia Regional Center, University of South Africa
Pretoria, South Africa

Track 2 – Expanding Access, Openness and Flexibility

Employing ODL to Accelerate Socio-Economic Development: Lessons from Ethiopia

The Ethiopian government invited the University of South Africa (UNISA) to enter into an agreement to increase the number of Ethiopian citizens holding doctoral degrees. However, many Ethiopian doctoral learners expressed that their experiences of learner support services provided by UNISA did not correspond with their expectations in that regard. Against this background the researcher engaged in a mainly quantitative investigation using questionnaires to determine the quality of the learner support services provided by UNISA to doctoral ODL learners based in Ethiopia.

This session will present the findings of learner’s expectations and experiences through the UNISA postgraduate training. Secondly, lessons from the Ethiopian experience will be related to the existing body of knowledge in regard to Open and Distance Learning and learner support.

Abeywardena, Ishan

Adviser: Open Educational Resources, Commonwealth of Learning
Burnaby, Canada

Track 4 – New Delivery Tools and Resources for Learning

Practical Tech Tools for Creating and Repurposing OER

Acón Matamoros, Ariana Gabriela

ICT and Engineering Coordinator, School of Exact and Natural Sciences, Universidad Estatal a Distancia
San José, Costa Rica

Track 1 – Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Online Learning

Transition of Distance Education to Virtual Education at the Distance State University of Costa Rica

In 1977, the Distance State University of Costa Rica (UNED) was founded to provide higher education to people who had difficulty receiving a traditional university education. Since that time, the University has managed to merge some careers and courses in order to add virtual elements to its distance program. Today, virtual education is available internationally. However, there are some challenges that must be overcome and objectives that must be met to offer virtual access to the Costa Rican population, preserving the quality that has distinguished UNED since its founding.

This session details the challenges the University faces and the vision that seeks virtualization and continuity in academic achievement.

Acón Matamoros, Ariana Gabriela

ICT and Engineering Coordinator, Carrera de Ingeniería Informática, Universidad Estatal a Distancia
San José, Costa Rica

Track 2 – Expanding Access, Openness and Flexibility

Implementation meta-evaluation in the computer engineering career of the Distance State University of Costa Rica

The Institute for Academic Quality Management at Costa Rica’s Distance State University promotes the culture of quality and provides advice on the process of self-evaluation for careers seeking accreditation required by the National System of Accreditation of Higher Education. In evaluating the computer engineering program, the institute used the “meta-evaluation” approach, which considers quality of the evaluation team; level of participation during the self-evaluation process; planning and organization; commitment with which the self-assessment was carried out; and elements that allow the self-evaluation process to be sustainable over time.

This session reviews the way in which the meta-evaluation process is planned and implemented for the institute’s computer engineering program.

Adair, Deb

Executive Director, Quality Matters
Annapolis, United States of America

Track 1 – Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Online Learning

Make Quality Matter: Applying a Research-Supported Quality Assurance Process to Improve Online Learning

Students’ achievement of stated learning outcomes in online courses and programs requires more than motivation and hard work on the student’s part. It needs support and resources from all levels including pedagogically-sound course design based on standards that facilitate student learning with easy navigation, measurable learning outcomes, effective assessment practices, rich content and resources, active engagement, just-in-time student support, and universal design principles.

This session introduces a research-supported approach to quality assurance and continuous improvement for online education that can be adapted and implemented to achieve institutional or organizational goals not only for higher education, K-12 primary and secondary education, but also continuing and professional education.

Adair, Deb

Executive Director, Quality Matters
Annapolis, United States of America

Track 1 – Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Online Learning

Adapting US-Based Quality Standards to Culturally and Pedagogically Different Education Systems: The China Case

Can a US-based research approach to quality assurance and constant improvement in online education, adopted by more than a thousand educational institutions, be adapted to education systems outside the USA? What needs to be taken into consideration for the quality standards developed for the English-speaking educational communities to be applicable to an education environment that is very different culturally and pedagogically?

This session answers these questions and shares experiences of a collaboration between a leading US-based quality assurance organization and a major research university in China. It discusses a number of Chinese online and blended courses, evaluates whether the Chinese courses met US standards, and assesses the fit between US standards and Chinese online course design.

Adams, Samantha

Lecturer, Industrial and Organisational Psychology, University of Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, South Africa

Track 4 – New Delivery Tools and Resources for Learning

A Game Changer? Embedding Educational Gamification for Enhanced Student Learning

Adams, Samantha

Lecturer, Industrial and Organisational Psychology, University of Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, South Africa

Track 1 – Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Online Learning

Level Up: Student Perceptions of a Gamification Pedagogy Application

1 2 3 70

PLUS DE 600
SOUMISSIONS – PLUS DE 900
AUTEURES ET AUTEURS – 56 PAYS!

Inscription

Programme

Les conférencières et conférenciers

Vérifiez ici pour découvrir parmi plus de 600 présentatrices et présentateurs de 56 pays, dont les propositions ont déjà été acceptées pour la Conférence mondiale sur l’apprentissage en ligne. Nous serons très heureux de les accueillir à Toronto en octobre 2017.

Trouvez les détails sur chaque présentatrice ou présentateur, incluant son titre de poste, le nom de son établissement d’enseignement, sa ville et/ou son pays, la Ligne directrice à laquelle se rattache sa présentation, le titre de sa présentation et une description de la session.

Vérifiez souvent parce que d’autres présentatrices et présentateurs et leurs détails sont ajoutés chaque semaine.

Les présentatrices et les présentateurs sont intégrés en ordre alphabétique selon leur nom de famille. Vous pouvez explorer leurs renseignements en vous servant de nos options de recherche et de tri.

  • Options de recherche par mot-clé

  • Options de tri

  • RESTAURER

(EN) McGreal, Rory

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

Abdelaziz, Hamdy

Professeur d’apprentissage à distance et de conception du curriculum, School of e-Education, Hamdan Bin Mohamed Smart University
Dubaï, Émirats arabes unis

Ligne directrice no 1 – L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne

L’intervention pédagogique : Les acteurs clés pour l’enseignement et l’apprentissage efficaces en ligne

Aberra, Tsige GebreMeskel

Directrice adjointe, Facilitation de l’apprentissage et soutien aux TIC, Centre régional de l’Éthiopie, University of South Africa
Pretoria, Afrique du Sud

Ligne directrice no 2 – L’élargissement de l’accès, de l’ouverture et de la flexibilité

Employer l’AOD pour accélérer le développement socioéconomique : Les leçons provenant de l’Éthiopie

(EN) The Ethiopian government invited the University of South Africa (UNISA) to enter into an agreement to increase the number of Ethiopian citizens holding doctoral degrees. However, many Ethiopian doctoral learners expressed that their experiences of learner support services provided by UNISA did not correspond with their expectations in that regard. Against this background the researcher engaged in a mainly quantitative investigation using questionnaires to determine the quality of the learner support services provided by UNISA to doctoral ODL learners based in Ethiopia.

This session will present the findings of learner’s expectations and experiences through the UNISA postgraduate training. Secondly, lessons from the Ethiopian experience will be related to the existing body of knowledge in regard to Open and Distance Learning and learner support.

Abeywardena, Ishan

Adviser: Open Educational Resources, Commonwealth of Learning
Burnaby, Canada

Ligne directrice no 4 – Les nouveaux outils et ressources de prestation pour l’apprentissage

Des outils technologiques pratiques pour la création et la réadaptation des REO

Acón Matamoros, Ariana Gabriela

Coordonnatrice des TIC et du génie, École des sciences exactes et naturelles, Universidad Estatal a Distancia
San José, Costa Rica

Ligne directrice no 1 – L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne

La transition de l’éducation à distance vers le virtuel à l’université étatique à distance du Costa Rica

La Distance State University of Costa Rica (UNED) a été fondée en 1977 dans le but de procurer une éducation supérieure aux gens, qui éprouvaient des difficultés à fréquenter un établissement d’enseignement universitaire traditionnel. Depuis ses débuts, l’Université a réussi à fusionner des carrières et des cours afin d’ajouter des éléments virtuels à son programme à distance. De nos jours, l’éducation virtuelle est disponible à l’échelle internationale. Toutefois, il subsiste encore certains défis à relever et des objectifs à réaliser impérativement en vue d’offrir à la population costaricienne un accès virtuel préservant la qualité qui a fait la marque de l’UNED depuis sa fondation.

Cette session explique en détail les défis qu’affronte l’Université, ainsi que sa vision qui cible la virtualisation et la continuité dans les réalisations universitaires.

Acón Matamoros, Ariana Gabriela

Coordonnatrice des TIC et de l’ingénierie, Études de l’ingénierie informatique, Universidad Estatal a Distancia
San José, Costa Rica

Ligne directrice no 2 – L’élargissement de l’accès, de l’ouverture et de la flexibilité

La métaévaluation de la mise en œuvre dans la carrière en ingénierie informatique à la Distance State University du Costa Rica

L’Institut de gestion de la qualité universitaire à la Distance State University du Costa Rica encourage une culture de la qualité et donne des conseils sur le processus d’autoévaluation en vue de l’accréditation exigée par le National System of Accreditation of Higher Education (système national d’accréditation pour l’éducation supérieure) pour certaines carrières. Lors de l'évaluation du programme d’ingénierie informatique, l’institut utilise l’approche de « métaévaluation », qui considère la qualité de l’équipe d’évaluation, le niveau de participation durant le processus d’autoévaluation, la planification et l’organisation, l’engagement avec lequel l’autoévaluation est réalisée, ainsi que les éléments permettant la durabilité du processus d’autoévaluation au fil du temps.

Cette session examine la façon dont le processus de métaévaluation est planifié et mis en œuvre pour le programme d’ingénierie informatique de l’institut.

Adair, Deb

Directrice exécutive, Quality Matters
Annapolis, États-Unis d’Amérique

Ligne directrice no 1 – L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne

Rendre importante la qualité : L’application d’un processus d’assurance de la qualité appuyé par la recherche afin d’améliorer l’apprentissage en ligne

L’accomplissement par les étudiantes et les étudiants des résultats d’apprentissage énoncés dans les cours et les programmes en ligne exige de leur part beaucoup plus que de la motivation et du travail acharné. Ils ont besoin de soutien et de ressources provenant de tous niveaux, y compris une bonne conception pédagogique des cours basée sur des normes qui facilitent leur apprentissage avec une navigation conviviale, des résultats d’apprentissage mesurables, des pratiques d’évaluation efficaces, un contenu et des ressources enrichis, un engagement actif, un soutien juste à temps aux étudiantes et étudiants et des principes de conception universelle.

Cette session introduit une approche soutenue par la recherche pour l’assurance de la qualité et l’amélioration continue dans l’éducation en ligne, qui peut être adaptée et mise en œuvre afin de réaliser les objectifs institutionnels ou organisationnels non seulement pour l’éducation supérieure, secondaire et primaire, mais aussi pour l’éducation permanente et le perfectionnement professionnel.

Adair, Deb

Directrice exécutive, Quality Matters
Annapolis, États-Unis d’Amérique

Ligne directrice no 1 – L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne

Adapter les normes de qualité américaines à différents systèmes d’éducation culturellement et pédagogiquement : Le cas de la Chine

Une approche de recherche basée aux États-Unis envers l’assurance de la qualité et l’amélioration constante dans l’éducation en ligne, adoptée par plus de mille établissements d’enseignement, peut-elle être adaptée pour des systèmes d’éducation dans d’autres pays? Quels sont les besoins à prendre en considération à l’égard des normes de qualité élaborées pour des communautés éducatives anglophones afin de les appliquer à un environnement d’éducation très différent du point de vue pédagogique et culturel?

Cette session répond à ces questions et partage des expériences de la collaboration entre une organisation prépondérante d’assurance de la qualité aux États-Unis et une université de recherche majeure en Chine. En outre, elle discute de quelques cours chinois mixtes et en ligne, évalue si les cours chinois satisfont aux normes américaines et apprécie l’harmonie entre les normes américaines et la conception chinoise de cours en ligne.

Adams, Samantha

Chargée de cours, Psychologie industrielle et organisationnelle, University of Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, Afrique du Sud

Ligne directrice no 1 – L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne

Passer au niveau supérieur : Les perceptions des étudiant(e)s quant à une application de pédagogie de ludification

Adams, Samantha

Chargée de cours, Psychologie industrielle et organisationnelle, University of Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch, Afrique du Sud

Ligne directrice no 4 – Les nouveaux outils et ressources de prestation pour l’apprentissage

Un changement des règles de jeu? L’enchâssement de la ludification éducative pour améliorer l’apprentissage des étudiant(e)s

1 2 3 70