Subscribe

Program

Your Direct Input

BUILDING TOGETHER

THE PROGRAM FOR THE WORLD CONFERENCE ON ONLINE LEARNING:
TEACHING IN THE DIGITAL AGE – RE-THINKING TEACHING & LEARNING

You enthusiastically answered our call to help us build the program for the World Conference on Online Learning: Teaching in the Digital Age – Re-thinking Teaching & Learning by responding in large numbers to our request for feedback from all regions of the world. Many thanks!

During the month of October 2016, we called on you, as prospective delegates, faculty, instructors, academic leaders, policy makers, instructional designers, and others involved in online, open and flexible learning, to share your priorities and goals for the program for the World Conference to be held in Toronto, Canada, from October 17 – 19, 2017.

We asked a large group of you to review the Five Tracks for the World Conference. The group included:

  • 1,031 individuals from 89 countries who signalled their interest in receiving information and in attending the World Conference;
  • The institution and individual members of the International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE); and
  • More than 22,000 readers of Contact North | Contact Nord’s bi-weekly Online Learning News.

We asked you to respond to two questions focusing on content, one on key take-aways from the World Conference and the final question requesting a core message concerning online, open, and flexible learning.

In planning for a series of interactive and engaging sessions and activities as part of the program, Contact North | Contact Nord is benefitting from your direct input through this wide-ranging survey, modelling the idea exchange and consultation that are trademarks of the World Conference.

In short, we enlisted all of you as the “Program Committee” for the World Conference by asking for your advice on your priorities and essential outcomes.

You provided clear and strong messages for incorporation into the structure and focus for the program’s sessions and activities. We are pleased to share your collective responses to each question and outline how your direct input impacts our plans for the program.

CONTENT PRIORITIES – Your Level of Interest in the Five Tracks

We asked you to rate your level of personal interest in the Five Tracks guiding the program for the World Conference.

The theme of Emerging Pedagogies and Designs for Learning was rated as the most important, with the next three tracks (Expanding Access, Openness and Flexibility; New Delivery Tools and Resources for Learning; Changing Models of Assessment) rating almost equally. Re-designing Institutional Business Models had strong support from quite a number of you, but was rated lower overall.

As guidelines for the design of the program, your priorities tell us to emphasize presentations highlighting learning and pedagogy, offering practical, experience-based projects and ideas related to the teaching, technology, assessment, and access challenges you address in your design, delivery, research and planning for online learning.

CONTENT PRIORITIES – The Key Issues You want the World Conference to Address

Your responses included numerous thoughtful and challenging topics in response to the question asking for one overriding question or issue to be addressed by the World Conference:

  • Designs for learning, which are engaging, motivating, inclusive, appropriate for all, lead to learner success, include learning communities, and shift the paradigm of learning;
  • Student support for what is described as self-regulated learning and skills development leading to successful careers;
  • Faculty development to engage, motivate and support that is offered online and system-wide;
  • Sustainability for online learning programs as an aspect of social justice;
  • Online assessment that is reliable and supports learning success;
  • Access to educational opportunities, resources, and technology, with special emphasis on developing countries, less privileged learners, and open educational resources;
  • Technologies that work well now and what is coming in the future; and
  • Institutional models for dual and single mode institutions, which are innovative and responsive to learner needs.

As guidelines for the design of the program, your suggestions offer us insightful headings for the content and linking of sessions to ensure each key topic is addressed with various examples and possibilities. You told us the activities and sessions, whether papers, demonstrations, or how tos, need to highlight real-world responses with their strengths and challenges clearly outlined.

FOCUS ON RESULTS: You Identified Key Take-Aways

Your clear and concise statements on the question asking for your most important take-away from the World Conference can be expressed in three categories:

  1. Best practices – ideas, models, and trends in areas such as instructional design, tools, technologies, assessment, quality, expanding access, mobility, institutional governance, and implementation of online learning on a country-wide scale.
  1. Contacts – taking advantage of the international scope of delegates at the World Conference to broaden connections and networks.
  1. Partnerships and collaborations – between individuals, institutions, and North-South.

As a guideline for the design of the program, your first take-away highlighting best practices and trends points to practical content and formats for sessions and activities.

You want to see and hear what your colleagues are doing and how it works for them so you leave inspired and ready to try new and proven ideas.

In order to facilitate your development of contacts and partnerships, the format of sessions and activities needs to focus on interactions and exchanges, so you can connect with participants with shared interests. As well, we understand achieving your goals can benefit from special features in the program that bring people with like interests and needs together in themed, open-ended environments where you can interact and exchange freely.

FOCUS ON ONLINE LEARNING: You Want to Give a Core Message to the World about the Importance of the Future of Online Learning  

We asked you provide one message you want to give the world about the importance, the potential or the future of online, open and flexible learning. Your responses are impassioned and full of hope and possibility. We selected a few of your messages to demonstrate the level of conviction you have about the critical importance and essential roles of online, open, and flexible learning.

The overall message emerging from your responses conveys the quality of the contribution online, open and flexible learning is making in response to educational, social, and economic needs and possibilities in the world.

The core messages from your responses from around the world can be grouped under four headings:

  1. Your messages highlighting broad goals, purposes and contributions of online learning in making the world a better place:

The future of online, open and flexible learning promises an opportunity for a transformation to the lives of many. (Australia)

 Increasingly complex global issues can only be addressed through collective intelligence which is built through educational opportunities that are networked, accessible, collaborative, intercultural, interdisciplinary and intergenerational. (Canada)

It’s all about being inclusive; to better understand one another to help reduce global conflict and address global challenges. (Canada)

Cooperate in the interests of mankind and educate the world around us. Keep inclusive equity and local diversity in online education. (Pakistan)

  1. Your messages highlighting the specific role of online, open and flexible learning in providing access to learning and offering better lives:

Online and flexible learning will enable the disadvantaged, remote people to connect as global citizens. The connectivity will change their lives. (Bangladesh)

I believe online, open and flexible learning to be a possible answer to improve the access and the completion rates in formal secondary and higher education in developing countries. (Brazil)

It is the only way of reaching the unreachable. (Philippines)

Online, open and flexible learning will take us to reaching each and every student who wishes to learn regardless of financial status, location or knowledge. (South Africa)

Online education is one of the ways we can democratize access to education. Understanding and supporting how people can teach and learn well online can help us to change the world. (U.S.A.)

  1. Your messages highlighting the pedagogical importance of online learning:

We should never underestimate the importance of the balance between pedagogy and technology. We have to be innovative and think creatively in order to make teaching and learning more purposeful, individualized and flexible. (Canada)

Online and distance learning is not just about passing courses but about learning to learn. (South Africa)

  1. Your messages highlighting the challenges for online, open and flexible educators and learning:

Given that much global conflict is rooted in misunderstandings and clashes between worldviews, how can we shift our focus in curriculum design and learning strategies to foster an environment rich in sharing and shared perspectives in order to broaden our individual understanding of others with whom we share an increasingly globalized planet? (Canada)

How can we ensure that the value of education is safeguarded in the changes that digitization and networking of learning and education facilitate? (Canada)

 Affordable scale with quality is the 21st century challenge for education and online, open and flexible learning represents a key range of strategies to meet these challenges. (United Kingdom)

We all live in times of profound change – as educators we need to engage with the challenges of the digital age to help shape it in a way that respects our core values and principles. (United Kingdom and France)

One message, from Israel, offers concise encouragement to all of us to “embrace change”.

A respondent from China presents us with a powerful image for the potential of online learning: “Online, open and flexible learning is water which suits every container.”

As guidelines for the design of the program, your messages offer inspiration and a challenge in looking at how the World Conference and its program can be structured to best facilitate the information and personal exchanges supporting your goals and beliefs.

Your core messages reinforce your earlier guidelines about practical, problem-solving sessions and activities, which offer ideas and solutions to shared problems. In response to your guidance, facilitation of shared innovation and perspectives becomes the core principle for the organization of the World Conference – stressing interaction and engagement.

Your heartfelt and hopeful messages also deserve a broader audience and integration into the World Conference itself. Whether as text in the World Conference materials or underlying themes for presentations, your messages of hope and purpose will resonate throughout the World Conference on Online Learning: Teaching in the Digital Age – Re-Thinking Teaching & Learning.

Thank you!

Inscription

Programme

Vos contributions directes

BÂTIR ENSEMBLE

LE PROGRAMME POUR LA CONFÉRENCE MONDIALE SUR L’APPRENTISSAGE EN LIGNE : L’ENSEIGNEMENT À L’ÈRE NUMÉRIQUE – REPENSER L’ENSEIGNEMENT ET L’APPRENTISSAGE

Vous avez réagi avec enthousiasme à notre appel d’aide pour contribuer à élaborer le programme pour la Conférence mondiale sur l’apprentissage en ligne : L’enseignement à l’ère numérique – Repenser l’enseignement et l’apprentissage, en répondant en grands nombres à notre demande de rétroactions de toutes les régions du monde. Merci beaucoup!

Durant le mois d’octobre 2016, nous avons fait appel à vous en tant que déléguées et délégués éventuels, membres du personnel enseignant et de formation, leaders universitaires, responsables des politiques, concepteurs pédagogiques et autres individus impliqués dans l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible pour nous faire part de vos priorités et vos objectifs à l’égard du programme pour la Conférence mondiale, qui a lieu du 17 au 19 octobre 2017 à Toronto, au Canada.

Nous avons demandé à un grand groupe d’entre vous d’examiner les cinq lignes directrices de la Conférence mondiale. Ce groupe inclut :

  • 1 031 individus de 89 pays, qui ont signalé leur intérêt de recevoir de l’information et d’assister à la Conférence mondiale;
  • l’institution et les membres individuels de l’International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE) (Conseil international pour l’éducation ouverte et à distance);
  • plus de 22 000 lectrices et lecteurs du Bulletin de l’apprentissage en ligne, publié aux deux semaines par Contact North | Contact Nord.

Nous vous avons prié de répondre à deux questions à l’égard du contenu : l’une sur les points clés à retenir de la Conférence mondiale, alors que l’autre demandait un message crucial concernant l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible.

Dans la planification d’une série de sessions et d’activités interactives et engageantes dans le cadre du programme, Contact North | Contact Nord peut bénéficier de vos apports directs grâce à ce sondage de grande envergure, modélisant l’échange d’idées et la consultation qui sont des caractéristiques de la Conférence mondiale.

Autrement dit, nous vous avons tous nommés membres au « Comité du programme » pour la Conférence mondiale en demandant vos conseils sur vos priorités et les résultats essentiels.

Vous nous avez fourni de solides messages clairs à l’égard de l’incorporation à la structure et de la focalisation pour les sessions et les activités du programme. Nous sommes très heureux de partager avec vous toutes vos réponses collectives à chaque question posée et de décrire comment vos apports directs influent sur nos plans pour le programme.

LES PRIORITÉS DU CONTENU – Votre niveau d’intérêt envers les cinq lignes directrices

Nous vous avons demandé d’évaluer votre niveau d’intérêt envers les cinq lignes directrices, qui sous-tendent le programme de la Conférence mondiale.

La ligne directrice « L’émergence de pédagogies et de conceptions pour l’apprentissage en ligne » a été considérée par vous comme étant la plus importante, alors que les trois autres suivantes (« L’élargissement de l’accès, de l’ouverture et de la flexibilité », « Les nouveaux outils et les nouvelles ressources de prestation pour l’apprentissage » et « L’évolution des modèles d’évaluation ») se sont placées presque ex æquo. Enfin, la ligne directrice « La reconception des modèles de gestion institutionnelle » a été fortement appuyée par un bon nombre d’entre vous, mais elle s’est quand même placée globalement à la fin du peloton.

À titre d’orientations pour la conception du programme, vos priorités nous disent de mettre l’accent sur des présentations soulignant l’apprentissage et la pédagogie, offrant des projets pratiques basés sur l’expérience et des idées reliées à l’enseignement, la technologie, l’évaluation, ainsi qu’aux défis en matière d’accès à relever dans votre conception, votre recherche, votre planification et votre prestation de l’apprentissage en ligne.

LES PRIORITÉS DU CONTENU – Les enjeux clés que la Conférence mondiale devrait aborder selon vous

Vos réponses à la question « Quel enjeu ou sujet primordial désirez-vous qui serait abordé durant la Conférence mondiale sur l’apprentissage en ligne? » incluent de nombreux sujets réfléchis et ambitieux :

  • les conceptions pour l’apprentissage qui sont engageantes, motivantes, inclusives et appropriées pour tous, mènent à la réussite étudiante, incluent les communautés d’apprentissage et changent le paradigme de l’apprentissage;
  • le soutien aux étudiantes et aux étudiants pour ce qui est décrit comme l’apprentissage autorégulé et le développement des compétences menant à des carrières réussies;
  • le perfectionnement professionnel du personnel enseignant pour engager, motiver et soutenir ce qui est offert en ligne et à l’échelle du système;
  • la pérennité des programmes d’apprentissage en ligne à titre d’un aspect de la justice sociale;
  • l’évaluation en ligne qui est fiable et soutient la réussite de l’apprentissage;
  • l’accès aux occasions d’éducation, aux ressources et aux technologies en mettant un accent spécial sur les pays en développement, les apprenantes et apprenants moins privilégiés, et les ressources éducatives ouvertes;
  • les technologies qui fonctionnent bien maintenant et qui émergent à l’avenir;
  • les modèles institutionnels pour les établissements d’enseignement monomodes et bimodes, qui sont novateurs et réactifs aux besoins des apprenantes et apprenants.

À titre d’orientations pour la conception du programme, vos suggestions nous offrent des rubriques perspicaces pour le contenu et la liaison des sessions afin de garantir que chaque sujet essentiel est abordé avec divers exemples et possibilités. Vous nous avez dit que les activités et les sessions – que ce soit des articles, des démonstrations ou des conseils pratiques – doivent souligner des réponses réelles, dont les forces et les défis sont indiqués clairement.

LA FOCALISATION SUR LES RÉSULTATS : Vous avez identifié des points à retenir

Vos énoncés clairs et concis sur la question demandant comment votre plus important point à retenir de la Conférence mondiale peut être exprimé dans trois catégories :

  1. Pratiques exemplaires – les idées, les modèles et les tendances dans des domaines comme la conception pédagogique, les outils, les technologies, l’évaluation, la qualité, l’accès extensible, la mobilité, la gouvernance institutionnelle et la mise en œuvre de l’apprentissage en ligne à l’échelle du pays.
  1. Contacts – mettre à profit la portée internationale des déléguées et délégués à la Conférence mondiale afin d’élargir les connexions et les réseaux.
  1. Partenariats et collaborations – entre les individus, les établissements d’enseignement et Nord-Sud.

À titre d’orientations pour la conception du programme, votre premier point à retenir, soulignant les pratiques exemplaires et les tendances, désigne le contenu et les formats pratiques pour les sessions et les activités.

Vous voulez voir et entendre ce que vos collègues font et comment cela fonctionne pour eux afin d’être inspirés et prêts pour essayer de nouvelles idées éprouvées.

Afin de faciliter votre développement de contacts et de partenariats, le format des sessions des activités doit se concentrer sur les interactions et les échanges, et ce, pour que vous puissiez vous connecter à des participantes et participants ayant des intérêts partagés. En outre, nous comprenons que la réalisation de vos objectifs peut bénéficier de caractéristiques spéciales dans le programme, qui réunissent des personnes ayant des intérêts et des besoins semblables dans des environnements thématiques ouverts où vous pouvez interagir et échanger librement.

LA FOCALISATION SUR L’APPRENTISSAGE EN LIGNE : Vous voulez donner un message essentiel au monde sur l’importance de l’avenir de l’apprentissage en ligne

Nous vous avons demandé de fournir un message au monde quant à l’importance, le potentiel ou l’avenir de l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible. Vos réponses passionnées sont remplies d’espoir et de possibilités. Nous avons choisi quelques-uns de vos messages pour démontrer le niveau de votre conviction en ce qui a trait à l’importance critique et aux rôles essentiels de l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible.

Le message global émergeant de vos réponses transmet la qualité de la contribution que fait l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible en réaction aux possibilités et aux besoins éducatifs, sociaux et économiques dans le monde entier.

Les messages essentiels, provenant de vos réponses de partout sur la planète, peuvent être groupés sous quatre rubriques :

  1. Vos messages soulignant de vastes objectifs, buts et contributions de l’apprentissage en ligne pour améliorer le monde :

L’avenir de l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible promet une possibilité de transformer la vie de beaucoup de gens. (Australie)

De plus en plus, les enjeux mondiaux complexes ne peuvent être traités que par l’intelligence collective, qui se développe grâce à des occasions d’éducation réseautées, accessibles, collaboratives, interculturelles, interdisciplinaires et intergénérationnelles. (Canada)

Au fond, il s’agit d’inclusivité; pour mieux nous comprendre les uns les autres afin d’aider à diminuer les conflits mondiaux et à relever des défis à l’échelle mondiale. (Canada)

Il faut coopérer aux intérêts de l’humanité et éduquer le monde qui nous entoure. Et conserver l’équité inclusive et la diversité locale dans l’éducation en ligne. (Pakistan)

  1. Vos messages soulignant le rôle spécifique de l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible pour fournir l’accès à l’apprentissage et offrir une vie meilleure :

L’apprentissage en ligne flexible permettra aux gens désavantagés et éloignés à se connecter en tant que citoyennes et citoyens mondiaux. La connectivité changera leur vie. (Bangladesh)

Je crois que l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible est une réponse possible pour améliorer l’accès et les taux de réussite à l’égard de l’éducation secondaire et supérieure dans les pays en développement. (Brésil)

C’est le seul moyen d’atteindre l’inaccessible. (Philippines)

L’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible nous habilitera à atteindre chaque étudiante ou étudiant qui désire apprendre néanmoins de sa situation financière, son emplacement ou son savoir. (Afrique du Sud)

L’éducation en ligne est l’un des moyens à notre portée pour démocratiser l’accès à l’éducation. Comprendre et soutenir comment les individus peuvent enseigner et apprendre bien en ligne peut nous aider à changer le monde. (États-Unis)

  1. Vos messages soulignant l’importance pédagogique de l’apprentissage en ligne :

Il ne faut jamais sous-estimer l’importance de l’équilibre entre la pédagogie et la technologie. Nous devons faire preuve d’innovation et penser de façon créative afin de rendre l’enseignement et l’apprentissage plus déterminés, individualisés et flexibles. (Canada)

L’apprentissage en ligne et à distance ne concerne pas seulement réussir des cours, mais apprendre comment apprendre. (Afrique du Sud)

  1. Vos messages soulignant les défis pour le personnel enseignant et l’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible :

Étant donné que les conflits mondiaux sont enracinés dans des malentendus et des confrontations entre les visions du monde, comment pouvons-nous décaler notre focalisation vers la conception du curriculum et des stratégies d’apprentissage pour favoriser un environnement enrichi en matière de partage et des perspectives partagées afin d’élargir notre compréhension individuelle des autres avec qui nous partageons une planète de plus en plus mondialisée? (Canada)

Comment peut-on s’assurer que la valeur de l’éducation est sauvegardée dans les changements facilités par la numérisation et le réseautage de l’apprentissage et de l’éducation? (Canada)

Une gamme clé de stratégies existe pour relever le défi du 21e siècle de l’éducation et l’apprentissage en ligne ouverts et flexibles, qui est de maintenir la qualité lors de leur développement abordable. (Royaume-Uni)

Nous vivons tous dans des temps de profonds changements – en tant qu’enseignantes et enseignants, nous devons nous engager à relever les défis de l’ère numérique pour aider à la façonner d’une manière qui respecte nos valeurs et nos principes essentiels. (Royaume-Uni et France)

Un message provenant d’Israël offre un encouragement concis à nous tous « d’accueillir le changement ».

Un répondant de la Chine nous présente une puissante image du potentiel de l’apprentissage en ligne : « L’apprentissage en ligne, ouvert et flexible est l’eau qui convient à chaque contenant. »

À titre d’orientations pour la conception du programme, vos messages inspirants offrent aussi des défis, en examinant comment la Conférence mondiale et son programme peuvent être structurés pour faciliter le mieux les échanges d’information et personnels qui appuient vos objectifs et vos croyances.

Vos messages essentiels renforcent vos orientations au sujet des sessions et des activités pratiques de résolutions de problèmes, qui procurent les idées et les solutions pour des problèmes communs. En réaction à vos orientations, la facilitation de l’innovation et des perspectives partagées devient le principe de base pour l’organisation de la Conférence mondiale – soulignant l’interaction et l’engagement.

Vos messages sincères pleins d’espoir méritent également une plus large audience et d’être intégrés dans la Conférence mondiale elle-même. Que ce soit en tant que texte dans les matériels de la Conférence mondiale ou en tant que thèmes sous-jacents pour des présentations, vos messages ciblés résonneront à travers la Conférence mondiale sur l’apprentissage en ligne : L’enseignement à l’ère numérique – Repenser l’enseignement et l’apprentissage.

Merci!

if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'en' ) { } else if( qtrans_getLanguage() == 'fr' ) { }